Manila Jeeps

IMG_9054

Metro Manila streets are filled with different types of public utility vehicles, one type of which, is this Jeepney. It’s a modified version of the army Jeeps that the US G.I.s left behind when they finally departed Philippine shores. Jeepneys usually bear unique phrases on their mud guards–much like this one. Perhaps he was raised by a single mother and this was his way of paying homage to the sacrifices she made to make sure he survived and thrived. That’s sweet.

Taking public transport in Metro Manila can be a harrowing and gruelling experience, given the massive volume of vehicles on the road and the elusive road courtesy among motorists of the city. It’s a real challenge to find your center in the midst of the hustle and  bustle, and takes tremendous grace to put up with this every day. But if you are able to find amusement along the way and during the long ride home, things like funny signs or interesting names of establishments or awkward billboard adverts, it can somehow alleviate the stress and trauma. You live to schlepp again another day.

Author: Hilary Isaac

After experiencing a major setback, I picked up the million little pieces that used to be me, found a new passion to glue me back together, and started moving forward. I found solace in physical outlets such as running and going to the gym. In it, I found physical strength. I stepped outside my comfort zone, tried something new, and because of it, I found mental strength. I started taking time to pray and talk to God, and in Him, I found spiritual and emotional strength. It all really starts from within. When you find the peace to calm the storm inside you, then you can stand strong through any storm in life. What makes me a ToughGirl isn't just my body's physical abilities. What makes me tough is the determination to keep getting back up each time I get knocked down.

Leave a Reply

