Baby Steps to A Stronger You

If you’ve found yourself saying “I promise I’ll start working out tomorrow” every so often without any follow-through, don’t feel too bad. Getting started or getting back on the fitness track isn’t easy for everyone. It certainly wasn’t for me. Maybe you know your way around the gym or maybe you’re a non-committal exerciser. Whatever category you fall under, the following exercises should be useful to you. They’re easy enough to do on your own own, but challenging enough that you’ll see results in due time.


The above video is a basic push up with your feet propped up on a fitness ball or on a step bench. The video on the lower half of the box is me doing knee tucks.

This is a good exercise routine if you want to get stronger and more toned arms and shoulders, as well as a stronger core. I would suggest 10 reps for beginners (and 15-20 for the more advanced) in sets of 3. Make sure to keep a good form and don’t let your tummy or back sag. You want to keep your back straight during the push-ups so you don’t strain or injure yourself.


This one focuses more on your obliques and tummy. Above is a side plank with twist which targets your tummy and your obliques helping tone and strengthen. Below you’ll see me raising my butt high while keeping my knees as straight as possible and my toes on the fitness ball. This one is a little more challenging so if you’re only getting started on abdominal drills, I would suggest skipping this for now.

For beginners do 10 reps of the side planks with twist, and five of the butt raise. 3 sets. If you want more challenge, you can do 15-20 reps.

Don’t forget to stretch properly before you start these exercises!

Author: Hilary Isaac

After experiencing a major setback, I picked up the million little pieces that used to be me, found a new passion to glue me back together, and started moving forward. I found solace in physical outlets such as running and going to the gym. In it, I found physical strength. I stepped outside my comfort zone, tried something new, and because of it, I found mental strength. I started taking time to pray and talk to God, and in Him, I found spiritual and emotional strength. It all really starts from within. When you find the peace to calm the storm inside you, then you can stand strong through any storm in life. What makes me a ToughGirl isn't just my body's physical abilities. What makes me tough is the determination to keep getting back up each time I get knocked down.

Leave a Reply

